Advancing the nonprofit marketing & charitable fundraising community since 1982

Max Hart Achievement Award

The ANA Nonprofit Federation recognizes outstanding achievement in the nonprofit sector with three annual awards, two for individual achievement and one for organizational excellence. Nominations are reviewed by the Federation’s Awards Committee and a recommendation is made to the Advisory Council for final approval.

The Max Hart Nonprofit Achievement Award, presented annually at the ANA Nonprofit Federation Winter Conference, recognizes outstanding career accomplishments by a fundraising professional. The award is named for Max Hart, the long-time director of fundraising at the DAV. A United States Army veteran and transplant from the for-profit sector, Hart was a steadfast advocate, supporter, and champion of professionalism in his role at the DAV and within the entire nonprofit direct marketing community. Each recipient of the Max Hart Nonprofit Achievement Award is determined based on the following criteria:

  • Is a professional fundraiser with either a nonprofit organization or a service provider
  • Is a respected authority on fundraising practices
  • Has demonstrated achievement, innovation, and leadership in the marketing community throughout his or her career
  • Serves as a source of inspiration and encouragement to others by exemplifying the highest standards in his or her work
  • Is committed to the professional development of others through shared knowledge and mentorship

Nominations are closed. Stay tuned for the announcement of the 2022 recipient and join the celebration at the ANA Nonprofit Federation Winter Conference presented by Data Axle.

Congratulations to our 2021 recipient!

Angie Moore, Chief Individual Fundraising Officer, CARE

Past winners

2020 — Phil Wiland, Wiland
2019 — Angel Aloma, Food For The Poor
2018 – Tom Harrison, Russ Reid
2017 — Susan Loth, DAV (Disabled American Veterans)
2016 — Joan Wheatley, Special Olympics
2015 — Geoffrey W. Peters, Moore DM Group
2014 — Sherry Minton, American Heart Association
2013 — Lynn Edmonds, LW Robbins
2012 — Charles L. “Chuck” Longfield, Blackbaud
2011 — Carol Portale, March of Dimes
2010 — Kory Christianson, St. Joseph’s Indian School
2009 — Mal Warwick, Mal Warwick Associates
2008 — Kelly Browning, American Institute for Cancer Research
2007 — Larry May, Direct Media/May Development Services
2006 — Christopher Cleghorn, Easter Seals
2005 — Raymond Grace, Creative Direct Response
2004 — Morris Dees, Southern Poverty Law Center
2003 — Roger Courts, Sacred Heart League
2002 — Roger Craver, Craver, Matthews & Smith
2001 — William Begley, Christian Appalachian Project
2000 — Claude H. Grizzard, Grizzard
1999 — Phyllis Freedman, SmartGiving
1998 — No Award
1997 — Max L. Hart, Disabled American Veterans (DAV)
1996 — Kay Lautman, Lautman Maska Neill & Company
1995 — Jerry Huntsinger, Huntsinger & Jeffer
1994 — Russ Reid, Russ Reid Company
1993 — Carol Enters, Carol Enters List Company (CELCO)
1992 — John Groman, Epsilon
1991 — Don Kuhn
1990 — Francis S. “Andy” Andrews, American Fund Raising Services

Not a member? Register